play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Mercia Motors

At Mercia Motors we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Mercia Motors

Mercia Motors
5
4.7

Based on 76 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Excellent service

    By Emma W on 10 July 2016 | Verified purchase

    Took the time to listen to exactly what I needed and managed to find the right car for the money I had. Was lovely to do business and felt like a customer and not a number!

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 15/07/16

    Thank you Emma, your business is important to us and it was great to meet such a loving family. I hope the Meriva does everything you need to and dont forget about that warranty.


  • 5

    Friendly and honest

    By Aneta C on 20 June 2016 | Verified purchase

    Very friendly staff. I booked the test drive, they had a car cleaned and ready for me. All information about car was availablr on my arrival. I habe had a good test drive and felt that all questions were answered honestly

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 20/06/16

    Thank you for your positive feedback and your business Aneta. We hope you had a safe journey home and that you enjoy your stunning new convertible :) Kind regards and all the best, Mercia Motors


  • 5

    Great Service,support and Advice

    By Georgina H on 11 October 2019 | Purchase not verified

    We travelled from Cheshire to Mercia in Sheffield having had detailed discussions with them about the car we wanted to buy, including a detailed description of its condition, mileage and history. When we arrived we found the car exactly as described, discussions with both salesmen were informative and they were both friendly and approachable without being overbearing. They arranged a test drive, talked us through the paperwork, arranged complimentary RAC breakdown cover and provided us with every thing we needed. I would not hesitate to recommend them and would have no hesitation buying a car from them again if they had something we were looking for.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 12/10/19

    Hi Georgina, thank you for your five star review and kind words. It makes us all feel very proud when all our hard work and professionalism is recognised. We pride ourselves in our friendly and honest approach and really feel it's important to treat people how you would want to be treated. Thank you again for your business. Any issues about using the warranty or any queries you may have please don't hesitate to call us. We all look forward to dealing with you again in the future.


  • 5

    Great service with valuable advice

    By Vickie G on 30 June 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I've now used Mercia Motors on a number of car purchases and trade ins and I highly recommend them. They are able to source vehicles exactly to your needs and specifications and always on hand for advice. The sales staff are friendly, approachable and customer focussed.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 01/07/19

    Hi Vickie, thank you for your kind words and five star review. We always appreciate it when our hard work and professionalism is recognised especially from a repeat customer, thank you again for choosing us and we all look forward to dealing with you again in the future.


  • 5

    Keep your yellow slip off the V5 when trading in

    By Ewan E on 21 June 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Do not under any circumstances let this company keep the yellow slip off your v5. Don't let them tell you a persuasive story you that its their job to send it off. Our old car traded in to mercia motors appeared locally as a private sale. The advert was written in the first person impersonating my wife.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 25/06/19

    Dear Ewan, firstly we would like to apologise for any upset this may have caused you. We did explain your vehicle wasn't going to be sold from Mercia Motors because of its age, mileage and condition didn't fall in to our stocks criteria and that we would trade your car on elsewhere. Which we did. Unfortunately once it leaves our premisses it's no longer anything to do with Mercia Motors. However having spoken with you we understand why you are so annoyed and we totally understand. We have looked into it and will be a lot more vigilant and careful in the future as to where we trade our part exchanges. With regards to your yellow slip on your V5, we have no issue with the customer sending it off themselves, we never came up with a persuasive story other than we will send it off for you, It's just a process we have in place to make the transition easier for the customer as we send v5's off everyday. Once again we apologise for any upset this has caused you.


  • 5

    Passed MOT when car shouldn't have been.

    By Olivia O on 22 May 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I came to Mercia Motors back in October for an MOT test. I've recently been to another local garage to have a price quote on two of my seats on my 3 door Corsa as they don't pull forward for someone to get in the back. The garage I got the quote from had said that it is an MOT fail if they don't work. To my knowledge I was not aware of that and would have called up mercia motors up and questioned this at the time. I called back up today (22.05.19) and have been told the person who usually does the MOT testing in the garage is no longer with the business and so i was not able to get anywhere with an answer as to why he had passed it when i was fully aware that both seats never pulled forward when i bought it from a private dealer 2 years prior. No help was given other than to come in and get a quote and told it was my word against theirs. The company should not be employing staff that don't follow through with the full testing of an MOT and passing cars if they shouldn't.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 19/06/19

    We would like to apologise about your experience. We contacted you to get a full understanding and appreciate your time spent speaking with us. Unfortunately, it was difficult to verify the situation, as the technician who carried out the MOT test no longer works at the business. We would always invite customers to bring their vehicles to our workshop, in order to correctly diagnose any faults, then advise and quote for any repairs required. We offered to resolve your situation in light of any misunderstandings and frustrations by offering some goodwill towards the repair costs required, you declined any further assistance by not proceeding. Once again, please accept our sincere apologises.


  • 5

    Free unwanted pets in car

    By Natalie W on 20 September 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Brought a car a year ago. Arrived at the garage and car was waiting for me to test drive. Great. Car had some damage which wasn't listed or mentioned until I pointed it out. I still decided to purchase. The buying process was problem free and the gentleman was present and stayed late to complete the transaction. Which was appreciated. Once I got the car home, noticed a funny smell the more I was in it and so searched everywhere, when I put down the rear seats, I found children's toys, lots of garden waste and maggots. Lovely. This car had apparently been fully valeted. Just spoken to them regarding a separate issues. They have not apologised for the extra unwanted maggots or the fact they obviously didn't clean the car more than a quick dust. Would advise people to check everything as they will not deliver the item they advertise.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 13/10/18

    .Dear Natalie, We are really confused and upset to read this review as like you stated you bought the vehicle over a year ago and yet for some reason a year on have written this. You have to understand how shocked we are. When you came to our dealership over a year ago you viewed said vehicle on site, thoroughly checking the condition of both the paint work and the interior. After checking off the vehicle in your own time you then took it on a long test drive. During this process nothing was brought to our attention by you on the cleanliness of the vehicle you were happy with everything, so much so you decided to purchase it and then drove the vehicle away happy. Since taking delivery of your vehicle a year ago you haven't been in touch with us to raise these issues. All our cars receive a full professional valet and we pride ourselves in the preparation we adhere to. Please can you contact us so we can discuss the issues you have raised so we can come to a conclusion to resolve them.


  • 5

    Bought a car from Mercia; happy customer

    By Jim W on 10 September 2018 | Purchase not verified

    I dealt with Adam, at Mercia, who was very accommodating of my short notice request to see a car that I fancied. Adam handled the viewing and test drive without any fuss and was helpful and professional throughout. I bought the car and I am delighted with it. All the paperwork was presented and explained clearly and in summary, a great service, from start to finish. The surprise gift, on completion, was a nice touch, too! I've used Mercia for servicing, previously and I will continue to do so with my new purchase.

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 11/09/18

    Hi Jim, thank you for your business it was a pleasure to deal with you too. We pride ourselves in the high standard or service and after service we provide so if you have any queries in the future don't hesitate to call us. Enjoy your fabulous Tiguan and we look forward to dealing with you again in the future. Hope you enjoyed your wine.


  • 5

    No pressure, pleasant people!

    By Lauren R on 31 July 2018 | Purchase not verified

    I went in on Sunday with no expectations as I was quite open to what I wanted. I called up on Sunday morning with hopes to look at an A1. As soon as I got there, the senior sales executive came straight over with a warm welcome, passed me the keys and left me to have a look. There wasn’t any pressure, no push of a sale like the usual places, it was very laid back and he waited for me to approach him with regards to the sale. By Monday the car was mine and I picked it up! I even got the most lovely bottle of wine as a thank you from them! I would most definitely recommend Mercia Motors - they want what’s right for you and won’t push you into feeling you have to continue the sale if it’s not quite right for you. I would also like to give a special thanks to the senior sales executive at Mercia as he was nothing but polite, friendly and patient. 5 star review for him too! Thank you so much for making me a very happy girl! :)

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 31/07/18

    Hi Lauren, thank you for your business and your kind words you were also a pleasure to deal with . Enjoy your stunning new car and enjoy your bottle of wine. Please don't hesitate to call us again in the future if you have any issues or are looking to replace your A1. Thanks again.


  • 5

    2011 Audi A4 Avant

    By Dan M on 16 July 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Brilliant experience from start to finish Adam was great, let us look around the car without harrasing us and gave us all the time we needed arranged collection for the following day and drove our lovely new car home. Would recommend to anyone looking at buying a car!! Was worth the long trip up there !

    Reply from Mercia Motors on 17/07/18

    Hi Dan, thank you for your business and thank you for your patience with 24/7 finance but as you said it was worth the wait. Enjoy your new car I hope your new puppy loves it as much as you do. Look forward to dealing with you again in the future.